BLUE RIDGE TUNNEL
After twenty years of planning and restoration, the tunnel and trails opened in November 2020, thrilling close to 200,000 visitors since then. Traveling through the long, dark tunnel is a stirring experience.
Located in an 1840s tavern, the museum houses a Nelson County timeline of events and exhibits on Rural Electrification, Nelson County Schools and Hurricane Camille. View pictures and hear stories of the destruction of the 1969 weather event that devastated parts of Nelson County.
Built in 1814 at the foot of dePriest Mountain by William Massie, Pharsalia commands stunning views and is surrounded by original outbuildings and lovely gardens. On the National Register of Historic Place and the Virginia Landmarks Register, Pharsalia continues to carry on the tradition of grace and eloquence along with a connection with the land as a working farm with orchards and extensive vegetable and flower gardens.
ROCKFISH VALLEY FOUNDATION NATURAL HISTORY CENTER
Once the Wintergreen Country Store, this museum features exhibits from the Virginia Museum of Natural History. Exhibits include an array of taxidermied native wildlife. Visitors will have the chance to experience animal pelts, insects, rocks and other artifacts.